In Dungeons and Dragons Legend of Drizzt, Drizzt’s expert combatant rule can be a little tripping. Is it too good to be true? How could you use it? This is how we interpreted it and why.
The explanation is pretty straightforward, “make an additional attack during your Hero Phase”. But a common misunderstanding is reading too far into the terse rules rather than interpret it word-for-word. We are conditioned to follow the game’s strict mechanics that any exceptions are met with suspicion. When reading Drizzt’s daily power, Twin Strike, I thought to myself “wait a minute, don’t I get this every time?”
Number 1: Yes, you do attack twice every round.
I describe it as taking another attack action. It could be two daily powers or one at-will power followed by a daily. Or if so able, a daily power followed by another.
Number 2: Movements and attacks comes in lumps.
The rule comes easy keeping loyalty to the mechanics. Movements and attacks continue to be separate options where the hero decides which comes first. Therefore, Drizzt may:
- Move and attack twice
- Attack twice and move
- Move twice and not attack even once
- Attack twice deciding not to move
Because a player may choose which action, move or attack, comes first there is a temptation to over read. Drizzt shouldn’t be able to do the following:
- NOT move then attack (once or twice) then move again
- NOT move then attack then move then attack again
- NOT attack then move then attack again
- NOT move more than twice
- NOT move twice then attack
Number 3: Drizzt is a powerful hero who can kill anything in sight.
Drizzt Do’Urden is one of, if not the, most powerful hero in the entire line of Dungeons and Dragons board games. For those of us introduced with Castle Ravenloft, he seems over the top and overly generous. But the game isn’t named after him without a reason. Drizzt is a wicked hero. If you’re looking for weakness, remember he isn’t at his best with ranged attacks. In summary, his powers are not too good and true.