Axis and Allies 1914: Units in contested territories

AA1914_0687With land units in contested territories,
what are your options? We review rules from Axis and Allies 1914, listing what you can do with your units; retreat, shift, or advance.

From page 15 of the rule book:

“Land units that begin the turn in contested territories can only be moved to territories that are controlled by your power or to territories that are also contested and already contain units belonging to your power.  If they are moved by transport, they may also remain at sea.”

In summary, if your unit is presently in contested territory with an enemy power:

  • You may move into another contested territory joining other units belong to your power.
  • You may retreat into a friendly territory (controlled by an ally) joining other units belonging to your power.
  • You may retreat into a territory you control.
  • You may not enter an enemy-controlled territory to contest it.
  • You may not enter an adjacent contested territory where you have no units belonging to your power.  Allies or otherwise friendly units do not qualify.
  • You may not retreat to a friendly territory (controlled by an ally) without other units belonging to your power.  Allies or otherwise friendly units do not qualify.
  • You may not retreat to a transport.

The United States will often conduct amphibious landings into contested territories in Europe.  Without a second, adjacent front, they will have nowhere to go until the territory is captured or all units are lost.

 

 

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

*