Axis and Allies Global 1940: Placing new industrial complexes

AxisAlliesPacific_0278Read carefully the rules governing placing new industrial complexes for Axis and Allies Global 1940 Second Edition.   Found in the rulebook on page 27 in the Axis and & Allies Europe 1940 Second Edition, the rules are explained in two separate sections under “Industrial Complexes and Bases (Facilities)” and “Industrial Complexes (cardboard counter)”.  Without close inspection, mistakes can be made.

 

 

 

Major industrial complexes (with capacity of 10) can only placed on territories that meet the following criteria:

  • The territory was originally controlled at the beginning of the game. 
  • The territory was originally controlled at the beginning of the turn.
  • The IPC value of the territory is 3 or higher.

Minor industrial complexes (with capacity of 3) can be placed on territories that meet the following criteria:

  • The territory was originally controlled at the beginning of the turn.
  • The IPC value of the territory is 2 or higher.

Minor industrial complexes may be upgraded to a major industrial complex (at a cost of 20 IPCs) if it meets the following criteria:

  • The territory was originally controlled at the beginning of the game.
  • The territory was originally controlled at the beginning of the turn.
  • The IPC value of the territory is 3 or higher.

 

Innocently overlooking a section, mistakes can be made.  The section under “Industrial Complexes and Bases (Facilities)” reads the following:

“Major industrial complexes can only be built on originally controlled (not captured) territories with an IPC of 3 or higher.”

 

 

While the section under “Industrial Complexes (cardboard counter)” reads:

“The industrial complex to be upgraded must be located on an originally controlled (not captured) territory that you have controlled since the beginning of your turn and that has an IPC of 3 or higher.”

 

The former simply states original territories since the beginning of the game, while the latter explicitly mentions since the beginning of the turn.  Otherwise, a major complex could erroneously end up on a unqualified territory threatening the balance of the war.

 

 

Tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Axis and Allies Global 1940: Placing new industrial complexes

  1. Roger Wasser says:

    In AAG40 there is 3 territories controlled by Japan on main land Asia 1 (Korea) has a Japanese control marker, and the other 2 have Chinese control markers. However Japan controls all three at the beginning of the game. Is Japan allowed to place Major IC on any of them? I have seen blogs argueing both ways.

    • admin says:

      IMO, the answer is “no”. Simply because it does NOT have a Japanese symbol printed on it.
      I sympathize with the opposing view, since the rule book states as a condition if the territory was “controlled” rather than originally “owned”.

      I justify my position because
      a) There is a reason why those territories are not printed with the symbol of Japan even though they begin the game controlling it. It is an exception with a purpose.
      b) The author of the clarification, Krieghund, is a very active participant in the A&A rule creating community. You’ll see them moderating the Harris Game Design board.
      c) I go back to whatever symbol is printed on the territory. That is the power designated as the original owner.

      This is a great question and will dedicate a new post about it.

      http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=21988.0;wap2

      • roger wasser says:

        Not sure if im sending this a second time or not. Opologies if I am. Thank you for your fast reply. Does that mean since Korea has a Japan symbol printed on it, a Major IC can be built there by Japan?

  2. roger wasser says:

    On my AAP40 board which I use with AAE40 to play AAG40 Korea has 3.

    • admin says:

      You are correct! I went home, broke out the board and Korea is 3 IPC.
      BTW, the rule book – has a picture with 2 IPC. And I erred relying on their documentation.
      Yes, Japan can make a Major IC there.

  3. roger wasser says:

    Your help is very much appreciated. Thank you.

  4. roger wasser says:

    Another queation if I can, my son’s and I are playing regularly and they are adiment that I can’t fly planes over their teritories that have troops. What are the rules on this? I believe if they have an AAA they get one round of shooting, and then on return trip they would get another round of shooting. Also what if their troops consist of fighters? Thank you…

    • admin says:

      From the AA 1940 Pacific rule book …

      “Air units can move through hostile territories and sea zones as if they were friendly. However, they are exposed to antiaircraft fire during combat whenever they attack a hostile territory that contains an antiaircraft gun. When conducting strategic bombing raids, bombers are only exposed to the antiaircraft fire from the industrial complex or base, not the antiaircraft gun on the territory.”

  5. roger wasser says:

    So I can fly over AAA on route to another territory and they dont get a round of attacks?

    • admin says:

      Correct, if you’re playing AA 1940 (2nd Edition).

      The original Axis and Allies allowed a roll for each enemy plane flown over the territory.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

*